A Place to Share Sewing & Quilting Experiences

Happy 50th Anniversary!

Today is my wonderful parent’s 50th Wedding Anniversary.  I am so proud of them and the wonderful Christian example they have provided to all of us in our family for the last 50+ years (OK, so I haven’t been around for all those years, but getting close).  What a wonderful event to commemorate with a special gift.  I don’t want to give away too much here since we will be going to see them tomorrow to unveil the special gift.  Much of the “planning” is in the theme/idea.  It needs to reflect the recipients and their personalities/favorite colors and such and something they will enjoy displaying.  I think the planning and idea bouncing around takes just as long as the sewing.  I am better if I see a ready-made project out there, but this project was fun in finding the fabrics (OK, so I let it slip that it is a quilt) and embellishments to go with it.

I can’t wait to unveil it and post photos very soon.  We will be back Sunday evening, and I’ll post photos then and give out more details.  Just wanted to wish my parents a happy, happy 50th anniversary today on their special day.  Don’t know about you guys, but I stress and bounce around ideas just as much for the label as for the quilt.  I think I found a neat way to wrap up this special quilt.

The next step is to plan and execute the 50th Anniversary quilt for my in-laws which are celebrating their 50th in September.  I got lucky that they are all in the same year and a month apart 🙂

More real soon…until next time…happy sewing & quilting!

Comments on: "Happy 50th Anniversary!" (3)

  1. Thank you! They will appreciate the good wishes. I can’t wait to post photos. I have a couple last minute embellishments to add tonight if all goes well. We had a bad thunderstorm last night and lost power from 8:30 p.m. to 1:00 a.m. so I didn’t get to finish it.

    Have a wonderful trip and enjoy the wedding. I said that to about a king sized quilt, but I’m getting tired of the one I made for our bed and have actually been fabric and pattern shopping for ideas…yikes! I know I’m nuts.

  2. Please convey my good wishes to your parents on their 50th!

    I’m anxious to see this “mystery” gift you stitched up too… and be sure to include a good closeup shot of the label. You create such wonderful labels – I am still at the simple name/date/place level of label creating.

    I’m off to L.A. tomorrow for a family wedding. I will stay with my cousin Terry who is also a quilter. She is finishing up a beautiful king sized quilt – and vows she will never make anything that big ever again!

    Enjoy your celebration!
    Heather

  3. Can’t wait to see it!

Leave a Reply

