A Place to Share Sewing & Quilting Experiences

Well the quilt has been unveiled at the anniversary gathering.  This was such a fun quilt to make.  I found the pattern a while back at the Birch Creek Quilts website.  I thought this would be the perfect quilt for an anniversary.  You can also adapt the “topper” for birthdays, graduation, babies, just about anything.  There are also templates of numbers so you can customize for that special event.  The pattern is called “Celebrations” it also comes with a fabric permanent pen so people can sign the quilt.

http://bcqonline.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=2&products_id=276

I found some crystals to embellish the layers with to add some extra sparkle to the quilt.

Mom & Dad 50th Anniversary Quilt

Mom & Dad 50th Anniversary Quilt

My dad likes yellow and my mom likes flowers so I tried to incorporate both into the theme.  My daughter picked out the basket weave fabric for the cake stand.  I really had fun making this quilt, but quilting around all the cake layers was a little tedious.

I wanted to make a special label, so I created a custom one from some software I have and did a “story label”.  I wanted to commemorate the wedding day of my parents those 50 years ago.  I found a nice photo of them from a couple years back to add to the photo.

Mom & Dad Anniversary Quilt Label

Mom & Dad - Their Story

What a fun quilt.  Now it is time to start the process all over for my in-laws who celebrate their 50th in September.  Ready, set, go!  I hope to post some of my machine embroidery projects next or share my wonderful Bernina equipment.

Until next time, happy sewing & quilting.

Leave a Reply

