A Place to Share Sewing & Quilting Experiences

Ok, so it has been a while since you’ve heard from me.  Our lives have changed a little since “last time”.  About 2 1/2 weeks ago we adopted a sweet new family member from our local SPCA.  “Snowy” is a white 3 month old (actually she’s almost 4 months old now) kitten.  She is the sweetest and most playful kitten.  As I type this, she is in the “forbidden” sewing room exploring my trash can, my sewing machine and anything else she can find.  She loves ceiling fans and thinks she can jump up and catch the pulls.  I’m glad she can’t quite jump that high.

Here’s a photo of our little one.

 

Snowy - Her first day home

She loves hiding under furniture

 

Now she is on top of my sewing chair contemplating the ceiling fan again.  Darn, where is my camera when I need it 🙂

Now, back to the primary reason for this post.  Abby and I have made another dress.  Her homecoming dance was Saturday night and she wanted a dress that nobody else would have, so we made another sun dress pattern from the collection we made the pink skull dress out of.  This one was a bit easier even though we still had to take it in several places.  I’m getting better at fitting patterns.  Abby found the black bow and we added it as an accent.

The coordinating purse was a last minute addition to the ensemble.  She needed something to carry her cell phone in, so I found a pouch that came with some pearls my mom bought me, and I added a ribbon strap…instant purse to match the dress.

 

Homecoming Dress 2010

Dress Abby and I made for her homecoming dance

 

Wow, my little girl is growing up.  Can’t wait to see what project she wants to tackle next.  She was showing me photos of dresses she found on-line that she’d like to make.  Boy do I have my work cut out for me.

Getting ready to go on the Central Virginia Tour de Quilt this week…can’t wait.  Love visiting all the wonderful quilt shops, getting the free patterns and getting lots of inspiration.  I will try to make a travel report next week.

Until next time, happy sewing & quilting.

Leave a Reply

