A Place to Share Sewing & Quilting Experiences

The past few years the church I attend, Spring Hill Baptist, sponsors a pampering day for ladies who normally don’t get pampered.  They come for a day of facials, massages, hair cuts and lots of love.  This year I was asked to bring my sewing machine and make Little Dresses for Africa so the ladies could give back to a charity.  My mom was visiting this weekend and was there as a wonderful helper.  I also had another friend from church that helped out with our table.  This is the first batch of dresses we made that day.

Little Dresses for Africa

Spring Hill Baptist Church Pampering Day - Little Dresses for Africa

My mom took a couple of the leftover “kits” home to make and went and bought fabric to make a bunch more.  She is a whirlwind and has more energy than me 🙂  Love these colors and fun fabrics she found to make her batch.  I’m sure these little girls will be thrilled to get these sweet dresses.

Here’s mom’s batch she made…thanks so much mom!  She taught me everything I know about sewing.

Next batch of Little Dresses for Africa

More Little Dresses for Africa

I couldn’t resist this next photo of my little Snowy making it known the dresses were “hers”.  She loves to lay on anything that comes out of my sewing room.  She is so adorable, I don’t have the heart to chase her off.

Snowy's Little Dresses

Snowy's Little Dresses

If anybody is still interested in the program, the blog site for it is:

http://www.littledressesforafrica.org/blog/

Or to download the pattern from Nancy’s Notions with mailing info:

http://www.nancysnotions.com/text/pdf/LittleDressesforAfrica_pattern.pdf

Soon I will be posting about a project I started for myself.  I have been sewing for others so much this summer and fall, that I needed a “me” project.  I love Christmas quilts and found a bright and fun quilt kit I bought at a quilt show a while back.  I love it and the top is pieced.  Not sure when I’ll get to finishing the quilt.

I have a goal to get reacquainted with my embroidery machine very soon and start making some of my Christmas presents.  I have all three Christmas collections from OESD and they are gorgeous as always.  Can’t wait to start making some of them.  Oh if only there were more time, and less work to do.

Until next time…happy sewing & quilting.

Leave a Reply

