A Place to Share Sewing & Quilting Experiences

Poinsettia Party Poppers

I found the kit for this quilt at the Mid-Atlantic Quilt Show in Hampton Virginia.  It has such wonderful and rich Christmas colors, I couldn’t resist buying it.  After a summer and fall of sewing for many, many others I decided to take a quick break and piece this quilt.  It is a fun log cabin block which I hate to admit I have very little experience with.  It was fun and easy to piece.  I am hoping to get the quilt sandwiched and machine quilted before Christmas 2010.  Wish me luck.

Here’s the finished top.  The “confetti” in the corners of the blocks adds an interesting contrast.

Poinsettia Party Poppers

Poinsettia Party Poppers

The hardest part was finding the right machine quilting thread for this quilt.  Cottonwood Quilt Shop to the rescue as always.  I found a nice, red/gold/green variegated embroidery thread that I will use for the free-motion quilting on this quilt.

I also have a second Christmas project that I hope to finish this weekend.  Several years ago I started a Christmas tree skirt.  I had a little accident with the rotary cutter which ended in some minor blood loss on my part.  Well that project got put away for a while.  I dug it out last December and finished piecing the top.  Last weekend, I sandwiched the tree skirt.  My goal is to finish it this weekend.  It has some beautiful red and green Batik fabrics in it.  Can’t wait to show it to you.

I am definitely going to get to that embroidery machine this weekend.  I found some beautiful embroidery ornament designs that are stitched on mylar that just sparkle at Embroidery Library.

http://www.emblibrary.com/el/Products.aspx?CS_ProductID=X7799&CS_Catalog=Emblibrary

I can’t wait to try one out.  Maybe I will actually keep one ornament I make for my own tree this year…at least I can hope can’t I?

Until next time, happy sewing & quilting….

Comments on: "Poinsettia Party Poppers" (2)

  1. Great Christmas quilt – you’re so right about the colors! What is the size of the quilt? The confetti corners seem to add another dimension to the familiar Log Cabin. Can you give us the name of the pattern? Glad you are finally making something for yourself!

    Is Abby reading up on Holiday baking projects???

    Heather

    • Do you remember that great booth at the Mid-Atlantic Quilt Show that was Pincushion Boutique that sold the “Sweet Treats”? This is one of their quilt kits/patterns. It is called Party Poppers by Pressed for Time Quiltworks.

      Here’s the link to the pattern on their website:

      http://www.sweettreat.com/Version2/catalog/product_info.php?cPath=23&products_id=42

      The quilt is 45″ x 45″ perfect wall hanging size. I’m supposed to be off next week for Thanksgiving so maybe Abby and I can start the holiday baking sooner than later. This was a really fun pattern to make.

Leave a Reply

