A Place to Share Sewing & Quilting Experiences

I wanted to take this opportunity to remember the life of my granny (my mom’s mom) who died on Saturday, February 19, 2011.  She was 95 years old and had a great influence (as did my mom) in my sewing.  My mom and my granny started me sewing young.  Without both of them, I would have missed out on this great craft.  My granny owned a fabric shop in Montgomery, West Virginia and I always loved going to her “shop” and picking out fabric for a new outfit, or browsing through the patterns.  I am so thankful that my daughter is interested in sewing also.  It is a “craft” that needs to be passed from generation to generation.  My dad’s mom – Grandma – was a quilter.  She did almost if not all her sewing by hand.  She was an avid crocheter too.  I guess working with your hands runs in our family.  I’m not sure if either of my grandmothers would approve of my “non-Singer” electronic sewing machines.  Our craft has come a long way in the last 100 years.

I made another embroidery card to send to my mom as a remembrance.  Here’s the photo below.  For the inside of the card this time, I decided to create something in InDesign and print out, then sign by hand.  I’m much happier with these results.

Praying for You Embroidery Card

Praying for You Embroidery Card

Sympathy Card Inside

Sympathy Card Inside

I would like to share my granny’s obituary with you here today.

Mary Sybil Tinnel age 95 of Charlton Heights died February 19, 2011. She was born April 14, 1915 in Runa, Nicholas County and was the daughter of the late James and Lucy McClung Murphy. She was also preceded in death by her son Jim Tinnel.

She was former owner of Fashion Fabric Shop in Montgomery and a member of the Riverview United Methodist Church in Glen Ferris.

Surviving: husband Eugene C. Tinnel; daughters Sandy Tinnel of Charlton Heights and Betty Matheny of Wytheville, VA. Five grandchildren and 6 great-grandchildren and 3 great-great grandchildren.

Service will be 2:00 PM Tuesday at O’Dell Funeral Home, Montgomery with Rev. Jeff Floyd officiating. Burial will follow in Montgomery Memorial Park at London. Friends may call from 6 until 8 on Monday at the funeral home.

Thank you for allowing me the time to remember my granny and share her life with you.

Until next time, happy sewing & quilting…

Leave a Reply

