A Place to Share Sewing & Quilting Experiences

I love baby showers.  Unfortunately I’m getting to the age where I’m invited to fewer and fewer of them.  With the invitation comes the question of what to make for a gift.  It is a rule with me that I have to make something…even if it is just the card for the event.  Recently I went to a friend’s baby shower.  There is more pressure when the mom-to-be is a quilter herself.  This time I went with an old stand by of bibs and burp cloths.  I was lucky to find a kit at JoAnn Fabrics that made it easier.  The colors were so fun and bright, I couldn’t resist.  Here’s a photo of the first round of gifts.  There are two bibs, two burp cloths and a diaper wipe holder.

Baby Shower Gifts

Baby Shower Gifts

I had found some really cute baby themed fat quarters, so I made two extra bibs using the originals as patterns.  You can never have enough bibs with an infant right?  Here’s the second set of bibs.

Baby Gifts Round 2

Baby Gifts Round 2

Then to top off the gift, I had to machine embroider a card for the new addition.  The baby cards are so cute.  Here’s the photo.

Machine Embroidery Baby Card

Machine Embroidery Baby Card

What fun baby gifts are to make and give.

It has taken me a really long time to get a post together, so I’m trying to get back in the swing of things.  I have an exciting new purchase/addition to my sewing studio that I’ll be posting about soon.  Thanks to my wonderful husband for all of the assembly procedures.  I just purchased a Bernina quilt frame and Quilt Motion for my 830.  I am so excited to get it all set up and start playing with it.  I am hoping this will really help me put a dent in my unfinished quilt tops that are stacking up in my sewing space.  We have the frame set up to the full 10 foot length so I’ll be taking over part of our living room/music room.  I’ll share photos & adventures soon (I hope).

Until next time, happy sewing & quilting…

Comments on: "Baby Shower Gifts Can Be Fun" (1)

  1. Heather said:

    Great gifts for a lucky baby – and congratulations on the new addition to your sewing room too! Can’t wait for photos!

Leave a Reply

