A Place to Share Sewing & Quilting Experiences

The Craftsy May Blocks of the month were more “out of the comfort zone” techniques for me–no measuring or symmetry here either and I loved them both.  The first block “Modern Log Cabin Block”, I did repeat since the first one didn’t work out quite how I wanted it to.  That is the danger with the improvisational blocks.  Basically you start with a square (or squarish) piece of fabric which can be fussy cut, then add strips of varying widths around to make the modern log cabin.  The final block has to be cut to 12.5 inches, so that’s where my problem was.  Cutting the final block to the correct size, left less than a 1/4 inch of one of my colors and it just looked strange.  I am keeping that block, adding another round of fabric and making a tote bag front out of it.  My old quilted tote needs replacing anyway.  I may even make a 2nd of these blocks for the back of the bag.

The second May block is the “Wonky 5-Sided Log Cabin Block”.  This one was so much fun just randomly adding strips around the beginning square.  I made mine as scrappy as possible and loved the outcome.  This would be a very interesting block to make an entire quilt out of with lots of scraps.

Without further delay…here are the May blocks.  The bottom edge of “wonky” didn’t want to stay flat, but you get the idea.

"May Blocks of the Month"

My life is going to be pretty crazy the next few weeks, so it may be silent here for a while.  I have quite a few other project to share, but they may have to wait until life settles down a bit.  I joined my local quilt guild last week and want to work on some of their charity quilt projects.

Until next time, happy sewing & quilting,

Melinda

Comments on: "May Blocks of the Month" (2)

  1. Kudos to you, Melinda, for moving out of your comfort zone! And look what a beautiful improv block you created!

Leave a Reply

