A Place to Share Sewing & Quilting Experiences

I have to diverge from my usual sewing and quilting topics to celebrate two special occasions today.  As this posts, we will be in my father-in-law’s church celebrating his retirement from the Baptist ministry and 25 years at his current church.  It will be an emotional day of memories, good-byes and well wishes.  My husband composed a special piece of music to commemorate the event, and I will be singing it with him at the reception after the church service.  My father-in-law has served 50 years as a Baptist minister and is ready for a new chapter in his life.  This is the ending of one and the beginning of many more new adventures for him and my mother-in-law.  Congratulations to both of them for their many years of service!

The very same time today at my home church we are having an installation service for our brand new pastor.  We are starting a new chapter here and some very exciting times for our church.  I am very sorry to miss this event, but I’m hoping there will be a video to watch for those of us who had to miss the event.  The service will be outside under a tent and many special guests will be in attendance including church members from all 4 of our Sunday morning services.  It is sure to be an event to remember.  There will be a potluck dinner afterwards.  Yum, hate to miss that one too.

It will be both a sad and a happy day in our family.  It is funny how it turned out that a beginning and ending celebration hit on the same day at the same time.  Then again, life is full of choices.

Congratulations to both pastors and best wishes for all your future adventures!

Preview of my next post…bags galore!  I’ve made an oath to sew up some of my purse/tote bag kits I’ve bought at quilt shows and have finished three in the last couple weeks.

Until next time, happy sewing & quilting…

Melinda

Leave a Reply

