A Place to Share Sewing & Quilting Experiences

OK, so I’m going to cheat a little on this post.  I had intended to share with you my June blocks of the month weeks ago, but again life caught up with me faster than I could run from it.  So I’m going to combine June and July before August gets here.  June’s blocks were nice easy ones that used half square triangles.  I really can’t wait to see how all these diverse blocks will make a cohesive quilt at the end of the class.  The first June block is the “Greek Cross Block”.  The second June block is the “Octagon Block”.  They were both easy to construct and were done in an evening.  Hardest part was picking out which fat quarters from my bundle to use.

Drum roll please…here are the June Blocks.

"June Block of the Month Blocks"

Now, I will have to admit to you when I saw the title for the July blocks of the month and heard “Dresden Plate”, I was less than excited.  I’ve never been a big fan of this pattern and always felt I’d not take the time to make this block.   I thought that since it is the block of the month project, I can make the two blocks.  I will admit to you, I enjoyed making both blocks and they were modern enough to suit my taste.  Don’t get me wrong, I truly admire those of you who make and enjoy the traditional Dresden Plates.  If we all had the same tastes, it would be a boring world, right?  The first July block was the “Traditional Dresden Plate” pattern.  It took 20 pieces of my fat quarter bundle to make the block, so I had fun picking those fabrics out from pieces I’d already used in previous blocks.  The second block is the “Modern Dresden Wheel Block”.  I used a brand new fat quarter for this block which alternates blades of the fat quarter and the background fabric.  I really liked Amy Gibson’s techniques in making  these two blocks.  She recommended the Easy Dresden template by Darlene Zimmerman which I found most helpful in making these blocks. Made the cutting a snap.  There were so many applique methods, I just chose the ones highlighted in the lesson.  The 1st block, I used a zigzag stitch in a matching thread.  For the second one, just a straight stitch on the Modern Wheel block.  So without further delay…here are the July blocks.

"July Block of the Month Blocks"

Next I want to share with you some purses and bags I’ve made recently.  So hope to be in touch real soon.

Until next time, happy sewing & quilting!

Melinda

Leave a Reply

