A Place to Share Sewing & Quilting Experiences

That about sums up my latest quilt top piecing project.  I found this kit at my local quilt shop and fell in love.  I had to buy it on the spot even though it wasn’t on sale (which isn’t like me at all).  What is telling is that when I bought it, it didn’t go into the closet or stash black hole.    I went to work on it immediately.  I realized going in there were going to be a lot of pieces.  Thankfully the kit came with the Batik fabrics already cut into 2 1/2 strips.  Then I had to cut my braid pieces from the template–8 each of 30 different colors for a total of 240 pieces.   24o pieces don’t make a quilt overnight, so I’ve been enjoying constructing the 336 inch braid over the last two weeks.  I loved watching the colors come together.  For some reason my block size was larger than the kit instructions, so I had to get creative with my blocks and the final layout.  The pattern had a nice symmetrical layout which I was not able to duplicate.  So just to shake things up even further, I rotated some of the braids to point in the opposite direction.  With all these beautiful Batik colors, I didn’t think I could go wrong with any layout.  Of course I had to put my own touch on it.

This afternoon we had severe thunderstorms, so I raced to get the borders added on before the storms started.  I wanted to share at “show and tell” at my guild meeting tomorrow night.  I don’t operate my Bernina babies when there is an electrical storm…too much risk.  The pattern – Rainbow Connection designed by Osie Lebowitz features the Timeless Treasures Tonga Confetti line of fabrics.  These fabric are stunning.  You can download the free pattern here http://www.ttfabrics.net/cgi-bin/fabricshop/patterns.cgi?patternID=314

Here’s the finished top.

"Tonga Confetti - Rainbow Connection"

Thought you might like to see a close up of one of the blocks to see the brilliant colors.  I’m becoming more smitten with Batiks ever time I piece a top with them.

"Rainbow Block Close Up"

What will be next?  I really haven’t thought that far.  Oh yeah, I must get all these tops on my quilt frame and finish something soon!  Piecing is so much fun though.

Until next time, happy sewing & quilting…
Melinda

Leave a Reply

