A Place to Share Sewing & Quilting Experiences

Christmas in July Fun

OK, so it is actually August, but who is counting.  Yikes almost back to school time.  My daughter is at marching band camp this week noon to 10 p.m. (yes wow!) so I’m going to try and catch up on some of my project postings.  Back on July 21st, my quilt guild chapter had a Christmas in July party.  This was my first party with this group and they know how to throw a party.  Everybody brought a dish and an ornament (preferably handmade) for the gift exchange.  I love my Bernina 830 embroidery machine, so I had to make one of the stunning free-lace designs from last year’s OESD Christmas collection.  Yes, they are time consuming to stitch out, but well worth it.  There are six applique lace pieces.  I could fit three in the hoop at a time and three took 90 minutes to stitch out.  I was able to use my new Bernina Cutwork Tool & Software for this project.  That was a little weird, but I’ll get the hang of it.  It saved cutting out six separate applique pieces.  I learned a lot from my first project, like why it is a good idea to use the basting stitches.  Once it got to the last of the 4 “cuts” my presser foot kept getting caught in the layers…but I digress.

The biggest labor of love is the assembly…getting all the buttonettes into the proper hole so the ornament stays together.  Lots of poking and prodding.  I couldn’t find my stiletto so I had to use the point of my embroidery scissors.  Whee what fun!

Here’s the finished ornament.

"Free Standing Lace 3-D Ornament"

Here’s a second angle.

"Free-Standing Lace 3-D Ornament Close Up"

It was such a fun party and the best part was opening and ornament and keeping it or taking one you liked better that somebody else had.  I was nice and kept the one I got.  I really liked it.  Good food, fellowship and fun.  Can’t wait for Christmas in December party.

Until next time, happy sewing & quilting!

Melinda

Leave a Reply

