A Place to Share Sewing & Quilting Experiences

My Little Sweet Sixteen

Well I guess she isn’t so little anymore.  I can’t believe my baby girl turned Sweet Sixteen last week.  Plans for the big event have been taking up all my time recently.  I wanted to share some of the special day with you.  I had decided last month I wanted to do a special Sweet Sixteen quilt for her.  I had a nice kit from Block Party Studios with a music theme.  Since music is pretty much her life these days, I thought it would be as quilt would enjoy for many years to come.  The only substitution I made was the border fabric.  Since my little musician plays alto sax I used some of my musical stash fabric.  The quilt went together fairly quickly even though there were a lot of half and quarter square triangles.  Since the quilt was so angular, I did straight line quilting which is not my norm.  It was enjoyable and I did like how the quilt finished up.  I managed to hang it up in her room for the photo when she was out at one of her many band rehearsals.  I loved the musical quotes in this kit.  I did the piecing on my Bernina 440 and the quilting on my Bernina 830.  It wasn’t big enough (nor did I have enough time) for the quilt frame.  Here’s the finished quilt.

"Musical Sweet Sixteen Quilt"

I gave her the quilt before our birthday dinner for her at one of our favorites, Outback Steakhouse.  There was a method to this madness because her big birthday surprise came after dinner.  If I had waited until after the big reveal, she might not have even noticed the quilt.  We had put together an elaborate scheme to surprise her with a car for her birthday.  Needless to say, she was completely blown away and surprised with our efforts.   We had arranged to have the car in the garage with balloons on it when we got back from dinner.  Here’s the new addition to our garage– a 2013 Chevy Spark.  It is so cute and gets great gas mileage.  It completely suits her personality.

"Chevy Spark"

I just finished my September Craftsy Blocks of the Month for September this evening, so hope to get them photographed and posted soon.  It was my first attempt at curved piecing and both blocks were variations on the Drunkard’s Path block.  I didn’t fall in love with curved piecing (maybe because I had to piece 32 of those little suckers).  My fingers are sore from all the pinning and “urging” the fabric into place.

Until next time, happy Sewing & Quilting,

Melinda

Leave a Reply

