A Place to Share Sewing & Quilting Experiences

Oh wow, I’ve been away far too long.  My last post was September 23rd.  It has been a whirlwind month so far.  We are winding down on marching band season, so things should return to almost normal in a few weeks.  We’ve recovered from the Sweet Sixteen party and are heading quickly towards Halloween.  I am the coordinator for my daughter’s high school band boosters craft fair this year.  When I said “yes” last year, I had no idea how much work was involved.  I am getting to meet a lot of nice people.  Our marching band is in dire need of new uniforms so one of the additional projects for this year’s craft fair is a boutique where we will sell items made and donated by students and parents to raise funds for the new uniforms.  I have a stack of fabric I want to make into things to sell, so it will be a busy few weeks.  I thought it would be great publicity for the fair to do a blog website and a Facebook page.  So I’m blogging every night, just not here on my own site.  Each evening I feature a vendor that will be at our fair.  If you are bored, check out the site.  There are some beautiful products out there.  If you are near the Charlottesville, VA area on November 17th…come check us out.

http://ahsbandcraftfair.wordpress.com/

But I digress.

The true purpose of this post is to share my September Craftsy Blocks of the Month.  I can’t believe this project is winding down so quickly.  I’ve already started the October blocks (actually finished them, but the first block I was really unhappy with so I am going to re-do it…I’ll try to remember to give that saga when I post those blocks).  They are paper-pieced blocks which I love and that was the technique I started quilting with.

September’s blocks use curved piecing which I’ve never done before.  Not sure I’ll do again either, but it was an interesting technique to learn.  We used the Perfect Patchwork Drunkard’s Path template.  If I didn’t have that, I would have failed miserably.  I really had issues cutting curved pieces even with a heavy plastic template.  I guess I’m always in too much of a hurry, so I tended to veer off.  I really only messed up about 4 pieces out of the whole bunch.  The two blocks are “Chain Block” and “Cleopatra’s Puzzle Block”.  Since I began my sewing career sewing garments, the curved piecing wasn’t that much of a challenge.  It did help using a small rotary cutter instead of my 60 mm one.  Here are the finished blocks.

"September Blocks of the Month"

In November we will get instructions on putting all these blocks together.  I cannot imagine what this quilt will look like.  Should be really interesting.  Hope my fabric choices for each month’s blocks don’t make me cringe when we put the whole thing together.  This block of the month class has been fantastic and I’ve learned so much from it.  I love Craftsy.com!

Until next time…happy sewing & quilting!

Melinda

Leave a Reply

