A Place to Share Sewing & Quilting Experiences

October Blocks of the Month

I can’t believe how far behind I am with sharing my quilt projects with you all.  Where has the time gone?  I can’t believe we are already two weeks into 2013.  I have actually sewn together the blocks for the 2012 Block of the Month quilt and started the 2013 one and gotten supplies for it.  I really need to share these last two blocks before moving on.  October blocks used paper piecing techniques.  I began quilting with paper piecing, but I have to admit I learned some interesting techniques from October’s blocks.  I had never used regular copier paper for paper piecing before.  We sewed the lines with an un-threaded machine to perforate the paper.  It made removing the paper much easier.  I had trouble with the first block (stretched a lot) so I ended up making a second one.  The instructions had you remove the paper before sewing all the separate pieces together.  This didn’t work for me.  On my second block, I left the paper on until completely finished with the block.  I didn’t even remove the paper until I had sewn the block into the large quilt.

October’s blocks were “Friendship Circle Block” and “Circle of Geese Block”.  They were both very interesting and used a lot of scraps from my left-over fat quarters.  The good news is, I still have a lot of fat quarters left over from this bundle to make many other projects.

Here are the October blocks.  "October Blocks of the Month"

Sneak Peek of things to come…an update on my latest project completed on the Bernina quilt frame and using Quilt Motion.  Lots of learning experiences and frustrations.  I was commissioned to make a quilt for a Christmas present from a friend to his wife (which is also a friend).  Interesting experience, but that is for another time.

Until next time, Happy Sewing & Quilting…

Melinda

Leave a Reply

