A Place to Share Sewing & Quilting Experiences

My quilt guild makes quilts for an at-risk preschool program in our local school system.  This is the Bright Stars program…thus my reference later to Bright Star quilts 1-4.  I made a pact in public (on Facebook so everybody knows) to make four quilts for this program by our SpringFest meeting the first weekend in May.  This challenge to myself was two-fold (to begin with).  I wanted to eliminate some of my stash and I wanted to make quilts for this great cause.

I found four candidates in my stash and got started.  All four quilts started with a panel and some coordinating fabric.  The quilts need to be approximately 40″ x 50″, so I had to expand on the panel.  The first one that I want to share with you (and the only one 100% done at this time) was the brightest and most fun of them.  I’m not sure why I started with my favorite, but I just did.  I had some jelly roll strips left over from a previous project that coordinated (same fabric group in fact) with the panel I had.    The strips were between 12″ and 18″ so I just sewed them together in one really, long strip.  I started adding to the panel.  It worked out that I had just enough for an even set of strips.  I had a nice coordinating fabric that I used for borders to bring the quilt to the right size.

Here’s finished Bright Stars Quilt #1.

"Bright Stars Quilt #1"

There was another benefit of making this quilt that I didn’t think of right away.  I got to practice a lot of free-motion quilting on my Bernina 440 (yes I had to use my 440 because my 830 is freaking out with the BSR foot and any type of free-motion quilting).  Unfortunately my local dealer is extremely backed up and the technician is out for a while, so no 830 projects in the near future 😦  I love my 440.  I am most comfortable doing free-motion quilting on it.  I just wish it had the 12″ opening that my 830 does.  Being a small quilt though, that wasn’t an issue.

I’m taking a Craftsy.com class “Free Motion  Quilting a Sampler” by Leah Day.  This is a fantastic class and even though I’m barely halfway through, I have learned so much more and have jumped outside my comfort zone already with my free-motion quilting.  Before this class, I never did more than stippling.  Now I’ve tried free-motion stitching in the ditch (which I really recommend you try) and some spirals and a few other shapes.  I had so much fun with this first quilt, I can’t wait to try more designs on future quilts.  I just finished the machine quilting on the second Bright Stars quilt today so will post that soon when I get the binding on.

I used plain cotton thread on the top and bobbin on this quilt.  I was quite pleased with the results.  I went with a pale yellow so the stitching wouldn’t overpower the quilt.

Here’s a detail photo of the quilting.

"Bright Stars Quilt #1 Closeup"

This was so much fun, I can’t wait to get to the next one.

Until next time, happy sewing & quilting,

Melinda

Comments on: "New Charity Quilt Goal – 4 Quilts by May" (2)

Leave a Reply

