A Place to Share Sewing & Quilting Experiences

OK, so I’m cheating a little by posting two quilts in the same post.  We had 10″ of snow today so I was rushing to beat the “electricity can go off at anytime” deadline.  I finished machine quilting and binding my third of four Bright Stars quilts before my May 4th deadline.  Guess I shouldn’t call it a deadline when the task is so much fun.  I was able to try out a few more free-motion quilting techniques learned in my Craftsy.com class “Free Motion Quilting A Sampler” taught by Leah Day.  She is a fantastic teacher and isn’t all caught up in everything being perfect (although you wouldn’t know that to see her finished work).  Quilt #2 was a fun Alphabet Sampler panel that I’ve had for a while.  I free-motion quilted around the alphabet blocks and around the animals in each block, then stippled in the border area.  Here’s quilt #2.

"Bright Stars Quilt #2"

And here’s a block close up so you can see the cute animals and my not-so-perfect free-motion quilting, but it was fun.

"Bright Stars Quilt #2 Close Up"

Quilt #3 is another panel I’ve had in my stash for a while.  There were lots of animals to practice free-motion quilting around, and I did my basic stippling around the open areas.  For the blue border, I decided to try one of Leah’s lessons.  Square spiral, it was a lot of fun even with all the travel stitching.  It was good practice for me.  The outside border was just regular stippling.  Another fun quilt.  Not sure what new stitch I’ll try on the last quilt, but we’ll see.  Here’s quilt #3.

"Bright Stars Quilt #3"

I tried to enhance this image in Photoshop so you could actually see the square spiral stitching.

"Bright Stars Quilt #3 Square Spiral"

And here’s a close up of the rest of the quilting.

"Bright Stars Quilt #3 Close Up"

I’m going to be sad to see this project come to fruition.  I might just have to raid my stash even further and make more Bright Stars Quilts.  I want to tackle another t-shirt quilt next.  I found a great pattern at the Mid-Atlantic Quilt show that I’m anxious to try out.

Until next time, happy sewing & quilting!

Melinda

Leave a Reply

