A Place to Share Sewing & Quilting Experiences

T-Shirt Quilt Number 2

Ok, so I’m a bit behind in letting you all know what’s been up with my sewing projects.  Time sure does get away from you.  I thought for sure when school was out things would settle down, but I was completely mistaken in that notion.  So to make up for lost time, here goes.  Back in May, I finished my second t-shirt quilt project with Chautauqua shirts from the 1990’s.  This was a completely different project than the first t-shirt quilt.  I found a pattern at the Mid-Atlantic Quilt Show this past February that I really liked.  It was so different from the other t-shirt patterns I’d seen.  It is “Quilted to a “T” by Little Black Dog Quilt Co.  I had to adapt several things to make it work for the set of shirts I had.  I had to make all the dimensions of the quilt larger so it ended up being another large quilt.  My goal was to finish it to give to my mom on Mother’s Day, and I just made that goal.  I was doing the last hand sewing on Friday night before we left on Saturday.

My home church has a Spring Women’s Banquet and this year’s theme was quilting.  I thought what better time to give the quilt to my mom.  She was already displaying the t-shirt quilt I made last year, so I thought its sister quilt would make a good addition.  The decor for this banquet was exquisite.  There were all sorts of quilts and some of them served as table cloths for the banquet tables (under heavy plastic of course).  I think my mom liked this new t-shirt quilt more than the last one.  I got to bring last year’s t-shirt quilt home to display and she kept the new one.

My favorite part of this t-shirt quilt pattern was the wonky settings of the t-shirt blocks.  The t-shirt preparation and block sewing was very similar to the first quilt I made.  I used 1/4″ Steam a Seam 2 to finish the borders on the blocks which would be appliqued to the main base of the quilt.  I learned several valuable lessons which I’ll share with you in case you ever make a project like this.  First I would take the fabric quilt base and tape it down to a table like I would when I baste the quilt.  Since I didn’t do that, the background had ripples in it from time to time.  Also instead of pinning the blocks to the “base”, I would use basting spray or something more permanent.  When I was quilting the project, some of the pins would come loose and the blocks would have to be pinned down again and some had ripples.  Also, I got a lot of pin sticks in my fingers.  I’d like to avoid that next time.  You really can’t see when looking at the finished quilt, but the quilter always knows.

Here’s the finished quilt.  It took me a while to find the fabrics I wanted to use, then decide which order I wanted them in.

"T-Shirt Quilt 2"

Here’s a close up of a couple of the blocks.

"T-Shirt Quilt 2 Close Up"

And last, here’s a photo of the sister t-shirt quilts on display at the banquet.

"Twin T-Shirt Quilts"

Here’s a teaser of things to come.  I have the January – July blocks finished for the 2013 Craftsy.com block of the month quilt.  I made a small purse from a kit I bought at a show last year, a baby quilt for a friend who is having a baby and one of the quilts I shared with you all a while back that needed to be finished.  I did free-motion quilting on my Bernina 440.  My 830 came back from the shop and seems to be OK, but it still doesn’t like BSR quilting.  The thread kept breaking.  I went back to my old standby 440.  I am hoping the two weeks my daughter has band camp this summer, to mount the 830 on the Bernina Quilt frame and tackle my huge box of pieced tops.  I hope that will happen.  If not, there’s always next time right?

Until next time, happy sewing & quilting!

Melinda

Comments on: "T-Shirt Quilt Number 2" (2)

  1. I love the t-shirt quilt. I would never have thought about doing them the way you did on tshirt 2. It makes me want to start the one I have for my son.

    • I was pretty scared to do my first one. Cutting up that first shirt was agonizing. The rest was so much fun. You should definitely start the project!

Leave a Reply

