A Place to Share Sewing & Quilting Experiences

Lots of Baby Quilts

Wow, it has been a long time since I’ve shared.  My last post was in July…where has the time gone?  It is Senior Year for my daughter, so that should explain some.  Marching Band season started early August and concluded mid-November.  Then the holidays, my band booster craft fair and need I say more?

I wanted to get at least one more post in for 2013.  I hope everyone had a good Christmas.  The first quilt below is a quilt I made for my daughter’s best friend’s nephew who was born in early fall.  It was a fun quilt kit I got at a recent quilt show.  My new technique for it was making a mitered border.  It wasn’t as hard as I thought it might be.  What did we do before YouTube tutorials?  I really can’t remember back that far.  I did free-motion quilting on my 440 to finish this one.  It was a lot of fun and I love the bright colors.

"Zoo Friends Baby Quilt"

One of my mom’s church groups decided to make quilts for kids in the local hospital.  She asked me to make one for her, so I made three.  I always have baby quilt fabric in my stash and thought they would be fun.  Two are panel quilts and one was a patter that used fat quarters.  More fun.  All free-motion or grid quilted on my Bernina 440.

"Safari Baby Quilt""Blue Jean Teddy Quilt""Pink and Green Baby Quilt"

The last quilt is for a friend who I have known many years.  I work with her mom and am excited to see her grow up, get married and have her first baby.  It is flannel and so very soft.  The parents did not know the sex of the baby ahead of time, so I went with colors that would work for either.

"Mariah Baby Quilt"

I have a saga to share because, yes, I did put my Bernina 830 back on the quilt frame and used Quilt Motion for the first time in a long time.  My 830 has been acting up and I’ve been hesitant to get back into it.  I’ll share that saga when I have more brain power to remember all the details and “lessons learned” on that one.

Happy New Year and until next time, happy sewing & quilting!

Melinda

 

Comments on: "Lots of Baby Quilts" (4)

  1. PATRICK said:

    Hi Melinda sorry for the silence, in France, there is not enough for the applicant to be developed Bernina quilt frame. I am also facing handiquilter, I have a Fusion with pro-stitcher. I am pleased with this machine quilter. I just start with the machine, I learn programming design and control of the machine. thank you for your new U.S. best regards Patrick

    > Message du 30/12/13 23:09 > De : “Melinda’s Quilt Blog” > A : philapat2006@orange.fr > Copie à : > Objet : [New post] Lots of Baby Quilts > >WordPress.com

    melindaquilts posted: “Wow, it has been a long time since I’ve shared.  My last post was in July…where has the time gone?  It is Senior Year for my daughter, so that should explain some.  Marching Band season started early August and concluded mid-November.  Then the holidays”

    • I’m glad you have several options for machine quilting. I get frustrated with my Bernina and frame just because it takes so much effort to set everything up. I wish I could afford to have a machine dedicated to the frame that I don’t use for regular sewing. Bernina is coming out with a long arm machine in late fall here that I’m considering purchasing. The frame I have that works with my 830 will not work with this machine, so I’d have to find a local buyer for all I have now. Not sure if I want to go this way, but if the long-arm does a better job, I may have to consider it.

      I am hoping to put my Bernina 830 on the frame soon and do some quilting. I have at least three projects I need to get done in the next month. Good luck with your machines and set up Patrick!

      Melinda

  2. Silvia Merritt said:

    It would be great to exchange ideas on how to quilt on the frame with the 830 . Mine was one of the first ones also and I have had some ” love you sooo and hate you hate you” moments with my machine. I definitely need other 830 quilter’s help and hints. So glad I found your blog! Silvia from Iowa.

    • Glad to have you Silvia. I too have had a love/hate relationship with the setup. Mostly it has been a problematic 830 and not the frame itself. My latest troubles have been with tension. My last quilt had so much looping on the back it was awful. By the end I had adjusted the tension (upper) to 4.5 and the tension in Quilt Motion to 4.5 and got a perfect row. I did not have to do this earlier in the frame/machine use. I had to get my machine serviced again (only 5 months after the last one). The 830s tend to get a lot of thread and lint build up in the bobbin area which I was told causes a lot of the thread breakage and tension problems. Hope you will share with us your experiences. I’m hoping to post about the above mentioned quilt very soon. Maybe I’m doing something wrong, but my earlier quilts were not this much trouble. Welcome! Melinda

Leave a Reply

