A Place to Share Sewing & Quilting Experiences

Candy Quilts Galore

OK, so I just realized (OK maybe I’ve known for a while), I’m a candy fabric-aholic.  Yep, that’s me.  I love candy fabric of all types.  It started when I first started quilting and I bought a kit to make a bubble gum machine quilt.  It morphed from the original quite a bit, but I finally finished this quilt in 2013.  It hangs above my computer in my home office.  The bright colors and candy make me smile (and want to snack). Here’s Bubble Gum Machine Madness.

"Bubble Gum Machine Madness Quilt"

My dearest quilting friend moved to the West coast quite a few years back.  She sent me a ton of 5″ squares of what else…candy fabric…you guessed it!  I finally got things together and made this quilt top.  I want to get it finished and find another place here in my office to hang it.  It was such fun to make and my daughter helped me layout all the blocks.  The sashing and outer borders are made from this cute candy kiss fabric I found at my local quilt shop, Cottonwood, in Charlottesville, VA.  Love this quilt!

"Candy Kisses Quilt"

My chapter of our local quilt guild started a block exchange this year.  We’ve had a lot of fun since August 2013 making the blocks that each member has requested.  I never thought it would be this much fun.  I am going to share all the blocks I’ve made for others in another post.  This is relevant to this post, because my exchange block month was December and guess what I had everybody make?  You guessed it.  I had been collecting Christmas candy fabric, so I gave everybody a nice size piece of Christmas candy fabric.  My only requirement was a 9″ finished block with the candy fabric being the primary focus.  Wow, I got some amazing blocks.  I’m still waiting on a couple, so once I get them they will get a post all to themselves.  I have some ideas for sashing and putting it all together, but don’t want to do that until I have all the blocks.  Can’t wait to share them with you.  We have some extremely talented ladies in our guild.

Until next time, happy sewing & quilting,

Melinda

 

Leave a Reply

