A Place to Share Sewing & Quilting Experiences

Baby Girl Ensemble

When coming up with a baby shower gift for a friend that is having a girl after two sons, I wanted to do something a little different.  I grew up sewing clothing learning from my mom and my grandmother owned a fabric shop.  Sewing runs in the family.  I sort of gave up on garment sewing due to my weird body type, and the fact that I never got the hang of altering ready-made patterns to fit me.  I found quilting to be a lot more fun and rewarding.  So for this gift I decided to brush up on my garment sewing skills and make a little ensemble for the new little sweetie.  Since she is to be born in April, I thought a Spring outfit with a sun dress, bonnet and bib would be great.  I found a couple fabric in my quilting stash and got to it.  It really wasn’t too difficult and I was pleased with the results.  I like giving a gift anybody just can’t go out and buy off the shelves.

I’m not the best cell phone photographer and with auto upload to Dropbox, I’m just lazy about dragging out the good camera.  Here’s the outfit.

"baby girl ensemble"

Until next time, happy sewing & quilting,

Melinda

Leave a Reply

