A Place to Share Sewing & Quilting Experiences

I’ve been meaning to share my last quilting experience on the quilt frame.  Since I have another one loaded and ready to start today, I wanted to get this one documented before I have more information to get confused with.  Thanks so much to all of you who have shared your experiences, tips and what works and doesn’t work.  That’s the best way we can all learn to use our equipment and have the most fun and progress with it.  I only share my “bad” experiences not to degrade the product in any way, but to share with others in case you have frustrations too.  I love Bernina products and will continue to be a Bernina girl always!

The good news at the beginning is the quilt looks good from the front and will be a wall hanging so the back really won’t be seen.  I know it is there but I won’t let anybody go “back there”.

Here’s and up close of the front quilting.  I chose a bat design for this fun Halloween quilt.  I used YLI thread in the top and a basic cotton black thread in the bobbin.

"Halloween Quilt Front Quilting"

During quilting the first row the machine was making a terrible noise, but the top looked good.  Once the first row finished, I rolled the quilt and looked at the back.  Ugh!  Yikes!  It is horrible.  Here’s an up close photo of all those loops and such.

"Halloween Quilt Back Nesting"

I continued on row by row changing one variable at a time and making notes.  I changed needles, re-threaded both the bobbin and the top thread to no avail.  Here’s another close-up of a row further down the quilt.

"Halloween Quilt Back Nesting"

By the time I got to the last two rows, I hit the “sweet spot” in the tension.  I first changed the tension directly on the 830 to 4.5.  That didn’t help at all.  Not sure if the machine tension matters when using quilt motion.  I know the software takes over a lot of the functions.  Does anybody know if the machine tension matters?  Second, I tried changing the tension in the software to 4.5.  BINGO!  Perfect results on top and bottom of quilt.  Wow, wish I’d tried that earlier so half of my quilt back looked OK.

Here’s a photo of the finished quilt and thankfully very few will see the mess and nests on the back.  I did get my machine serviced after this quilt and the tech said it had a lot of lint and thread build up in the bobbin area which could definitely affect the tension and the back quilting.  I had just had the machine serviced 6 months ago, so it wasn’t like I had been neglecting it.  I do a lot of machine embroidery which does affect how often it needs to be serviced.

"Finished Halloween Quilt"

I’m getting psyched up for my next attempt.  I hope to have good results to share with you soon.  I have a box full of quilt tops ready to test out.

Until next time, happy sewing & quilting,

Melinda

Comments on: "Another Quilt Frame Adventure" (4)

  1. Melinda I am having the same problem; what should i do? I also love my bernina. There are people who looks the back first!

    • I had a good experience this past weekend with my frame. The back was almost perfect. I made sure all the lint and thread remnants were gone from the bobbin area. I oiled the machine and I slowed the speed in the software down to slow (instead of medium). I found my perfect tension was 3.0 in the software. It didn’t seem to make a difference what I set the machine on. I also used a high quality thread in the bobbin (which goes against my cheap nature). I used Superior’s Masterpiece in the bobbin and King Tut for the top thread. I’m going to post about the whole experience and what I learned hopefully later in the week. I want to finish the quilt and get a good photo of it. Just keep trying things and hopefully you’ll find the sweet spot for your machine setup. Good luck!

      Melinda

    • Lynn Kupferschmid said:

      Hi, I had the same problem. I was using Superior King Tut thread on the top and Bottom Line thread for the bobbin, nothing seem to fix the problem when I did tension adjustment. So, I changed threads! I went to Superior Master Piece thread for top and bottom and my machine quilts like a dream. Try different thread types without any tension adjustments, it can make all the difference in the world. Good Luck
      Lynn

      • Thanks Lynn. Glad to hear more advice and tips. I love the King Tut because of the great thread color choices. I used aurifil thread on my last quilt which did pretty well until the machine got near the end of the quilt. The magic combo for my machine seems to be a cleaned and oiled bobbin area makes the most difference. Smaller quilt are much easier and breakage free. Anybody else out there want to share their “magic” combination of top and bobbin threads on their frames? Great info Lynn. Thanks for sharing!

        Melinda

Leave a Reply

