A Place to Share Sewing & Quilting Experiences

Wow, I just realize it has been a long time since I’ve shared with you all.  May in fact.  I guess having a daughter about to graduate from high school takes priority.  We made it through graduation, summer and moving her to college.  That was the absolute hardest thing I have ever done.  Although we miss her terribly, she is flourishing and doing great on her own.  We are so very proud of her.  She is a member of the marching band at James Madison University–the Marching Royal Dukes.  We were able to see her perform for the first time last weekend at Family Weekend.  So proud.

"abby mrd photo"

That really isn’t my purpose for posting tonight, but I had to be a proud mom for a few minutes.  I have a huge list of projects to share with you, and hope I can get them posted in the near future.  Our quilt guild participates in Bright Star Quilt projects for a local preschool program.   It is so much fun making these quilts for the little ones who appreciate them so much.  Here are this year’s donations that I made.

"Bright Stars Quilt 1 2014""Bright Stars Quilt 2 2014"

Here are some close ups of the quilting.

"Bright Stars Quilt 1 Close Up""Bright Stars Quilt 2 Close Up"

Sorry this is short.  Just trying to get back into things.  I did free motion quilting on both of these, and played with some new designs I’ve learned in various forums and Craftsy.com classes.  Lots of things to come including a hallenge quilt from my guild, “Let the Good Times Roll”,  several more installments on my “bag of the month” project and some gifts I’ve made.  I have two friends having babies in the Winter, so will have those two quilts to share.  Also, I won some raffle blocks at our guild’s Springfest meeting and finally put them together last week.  Lots of fun projects.

Until next time, Happy Sewing & Quilting,

Melinda

Leave a Reply

