A Place to Share Sewing & Quilting Experiences

My chapter of our local quilt guild issued a challenge for our Springfest meeting back in May of this year.  I wasn’t going to participate because nothing came to me, but at the last minute (yes a week before the meeting) I got a good idea.  The theme was “Let the Good Times Roll”.  I wanted to incorporate Mardi Gras and something personal.  I came up with “My Favorite Things” and decided that is how I best could “let the good times roll”.  I took photos of many of my favorite things…my husband, my daughter, foods I like, sewing, knitting, quilting, horses and my two kitties plus a few more things and printed them out on fabric paper.  Then I made a collage of them on my background fabric.  It was a lot of fun and I love the purple, gold and green fabrics I found to coordinate.  I just did free motion quilting around the quilt and used ribbon embellishment to accent the embroidery design of the quilt name.  Now I just need to find a good place in my office/studio to hang up this quilt to keep me focused on the good things in life when the irritating and bad things come along.  Here are the photos.


myfavoritethings1"My Favorite Things"

 

"My Favorite Things Close up"

Until next time, Happy Sewing & Quilting,

Melinda

Leave a Reply

